Skip to content

Avocado Sandwich

June 24, 2010
Avocado Sandwich 3
My go-to meal when time is short.

Avocado Sandwich. I am a huge fan of the sandwich. I can make a sandwich out of just about anything. When I was little I ate fried green tomato sandwiches, sugar syrup sandwiches, fried bologna sandwiches, and butter sandwiches. There was also the occasional Spam sandwich, cheese sandwich, or jelly sandwich. Everything was eaten on “light” bread, and there were no dressings save for Sandwich Spread or Miracle Whip on the bologna sandwich.   

 These days, I don’t get to eat sandwiches as much as I would like. The ones at the local restaurants seem too complicated–piled high with ingredients and even higher with price. I had all but given up on eating them until I stumbled across the avocado–the perfect sandwich-maker. When I was growing up, we didn’t eat avocados. As a matter of truth, I had never even seen an avocado until I was an adult; and it took me flying across an ocean, switching planes in Amsterdam, going through customs, and taking a train to a suburb of Paris to finally get me to taste one that wasn’t camouflaged as guacamole. My mom once told me that she was eating 4-6 avocados per day, but upon further investigation I discovered what she was eating was actually kiwi fruit. The avocado was so foreign to her, she didn’t know one looked like.       

Well, my French introduction led to a love affair. There is always a ripe Haas in my kitchen,  and when I buy bread I make sure it will pair well with my beloved fruit.  Here is the recipe for my favorite sandwich:     

  • 2 slices of bread
  • Spicy Mayonnaise
  • Sunflower seeds, hulled
  • 1 small, ripe avocado, peeled and pitted and sliced into 1/4-inch thick slices
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Spread each bread slice with mayonnaise, sprinkle with sunflower seeds, and set aside. Place the avocado slices on 1 slice of the bread and season with salt and pepper. Drizzle lightly with the oil. Place the second slice of bread on top. Enjoy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jenny d. permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:24 PM

    this looks super yummy. I’m always making avocado sammiches at home; you’re right in that restaurant versions are somehow never acceptable. that said — have you tried the avocado sandwich at Olive’s? if you’re down on Prince Street (on Thursdays), check it out. sure it cost $10, but it lifted me out of a deep avocado depression I suffered after moving from California……

    • Ola Mae permalink*
      July 13, 2010 10:54 AM

      Thanks so much. And, as for Olive’s, I have had their Avocado sandwich. Some good friends from my SoHo days turned me on to them. They are delicious, but even they are sometimes subpar (and, as you noted, quite pricey). I do sometimes add sprouts to my avocado sandwich to give it that crunchy earthy feel of the Olive’s sammie, though.
      Thanks for writing.
      OMK

Leave a Reply

